Lugano, 01.09.2013



The group was formed in 1945 at Chicago's Highway Baptist Church by a number of teenagers that included Cooke, Creadell Copeland, and two pairs of brothers, Marvin & Charles Jones and Curtis & Lee Richardson.


Cooke exited in 1951 to join the ranks of hometown heroes “The Soul Stirrers”; his replacement was Rawls, himself an alumnus of another young “Windy City” group, “The Holy Wonders”. In time, all of the Wonders' other members — Spencer Taylor, James Walker, and Chris Flowers among them — would join the Highway Q.C.'s as well.


Rawls remained for just two years, leaving at that time to join the Los Angeles-based “Chosen Gospel Singers”; his substitute was Johnnie Taylor, previously of the Kansas City group the Melody Kings. The group made their debut on the Vee-Jay label in 1955; in 1956, Spencer Taylor joined, and a year later Johnnie Taylor (who was not related to Spencer Taylor) quit to join the Soul Stirrers, ironically enough filling the gap created by the exit of Sam Cooke. Spencer Taylor remained the Highway Q.C.'s leader throughout the decades which followed, continuing to helm the group into the '90s.

Main Sponsors

Download Press Release

Follow us on